Do Your Own Divorce In Orange County, California.

by Jon D. Alexander, Esq.

Should you and your spouse be able to agree on some essential issues you may be able to administer your own divorce, thereby saving you legal fees and the hassle of battling over property. The Orange County, California Superior Court makes available a packet that contains most if not all of the required documentation required to perform your divorce.

You and your spouse are properly suited for do it yourself (“DIY”) divorce if the both of you:

1. Have not been married for more than 5 years;

2. Agree on how to divide possessions and debts;

3. Do not have kids together;

4. Possess less than $36,000.00 in property together;

5. Owe less than $6,000 together.

In the event that you answer yes to all of these questions a DIY divorce may be a great option. The Orange County, California Superior Court provides a packet of forms for your DIY divorce at

Make sure to read the Court’s disclaimer: Packets have been developed which meet filing needs in most circumstances. There may be some circumstances when additional forms (not included in the packet) will be required by the court.

If, on the other hand, you did not answer yes to every numbered item above it’s probably time to retain a qualified Orange County, California divorce lawyer. You will no doubt have questions and might require representation. For a free consultation please visit us at and schedule an appointment today.

About the Author:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)



This author has published 5 articles so far.

Comments are closed