Facing The Inevitable: Understanding Death

Death, oftentimes perceived as the end of life and the apparent ending of every human being is one of the most dreadful thing that most of us fear. But, is it just death that we are afraid of? Or the qualms and unknowns that lie following this experience. According to Haruki Murakami, a famous Japanese writer, death is not the opposite of life but an intrinsic part of it. We can say that there is some truth to this adage – that death and bereavement is a part of being human, a truth that no one can alter. However, being inevitable doesn’t make the experience of death bearable. Often, the demise creates deep and painful impact in our lives. Nevertheless,, we do not have an option but to go through the course of grieving and in time get the strength to live a life without the departed loved one.

A Swiss American psychiatrist, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross started several studies about near death experiences, death and dying and she came up with the well-known “Five Stages of Grief”. She explained that there are five fundamental stages of bereavement however, a person who is grieving does not necessarily experience all the stages nor in specific order.

The acronym of the five stages of grief is DABDA. Letter D is for denial. At this stage, denial is the momentary defence mechanism which is either unconscious or conscious. Letter A stands for anger. At this stage, the individual experiences a strong feeling of rage and it is often normal to blame oneself to release stress from the experience. Letter B stands for bargaining. At this stage, the person is experiencing strong feeling of hope that it is possible to bargain or postpone with the recent loss, sickness or death. Letter D is for depression. At this stage, the person experiences sorrow, doubts and fear. The last letter A stands for acceptance. At this phase, the person progressively accepts the loss and starts to move on with life.

As human beings, we have high regards our loved-ones, in connection to that, we conduct a funeral ceremony to remember the life of the person who passed away. In the Merlion City, funeral service Singapore offers a comprehensive coverage and concern regarding the culture, beliefs, practices and religion of the dead. In fact, funeral services in Singapore reveres the religion of dead individuals by providing belief and customs sensitive rites such as Buddhist, Taoist, Christian or Catholic funeral services.

Truly, losing a loved one can be emotionally, physically, mentally and spiritually stressful. So preparing for the funeral is quite overwhelming. Nowadays, funeral planners have been equipped to provide a descent, beautiful and peaceful funeral service. This includes doctor’s certification of death, carrying of the deceased’s body to the funeral home, servicing of casket (for cremation or burial), clothing for the deceased also called as Shou Yee, funeral car, ceremonial rites and practices, flower decoration, food services and photo remembrance.

Related articles on Buddhist funeral Singapore or visit www.angchinmoh.com.sg

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)


This author has published 2 articles so far.

Comments are closed